Centre for Contemporary Music, Moscow

About us
Studio for New Music Ensemble

List of events
Special projects
Moscow Forum Festival
Workshops and seminars
Jurgenson Competition

Photo gallery


Concert 'Happy New Music!', 16/01/2018

Jurgenson Competition

вернуться к общей информации о конкурсе


(Moscow, 15 February – 9 June 2009)


1st round resultsRegulations 2009

During the 2nd round of the competition jury committee consisting of Vladimir Tarnopolski (chairman), Alexander Vustin, Boris Getselev, Igor Dronov, Leyla Ismagilova, Faradzh Karaev, Marc Pekarsky awarded:

Category "Composition for Soloist Ensemble"

1st Prize —
Carlo Ciceri (Italy) — Volta
Steven Daverson (Great Britain) — Elusive Tangibility IV

2nd Prize — not awarded

3rd Prize —
Artur Akshelyan (Armenia) — Lichtfarben

Category "Composition for String Quartet"

1st Prize — not awarded

2nd Prize —
Chang Eun Ho (South Korea) — Meditation for Van Gogh's "La Nuit Etoilee"

3rd Prize — not awarded

Diploma —
Hikari Kiyama (Japan) — Kabuki α

Category "Composition for percussion or percussion ensemble"

1st Prize — not awarded

2nd Prize —
Evis Sammoutis (Cyprus) — TWO 2

3rd Prize
Moshe Shulman (Israel) — Construction 3

Diploma —
Xian Wang (China) — Tao, Volume I

Award ceremony and final concert took place on June 9th 2009 at 19:00 at Rakhmaninov hall of the Moscow P.I. Tchaikovsky Conservatory. Performers — Studio for New Music ensemble (conducted by Igor Dronov), and Mark Pekarsky’s percussion ensemble.

 Download final press release (in Russian)

       Reportage of Culture TV channel about Competition final concert…

top of the page


155 scores from 40 countries were applied. 143 of them that satisfied the requirements of the competition were accepted to the 1st round (staff and duration of the piece, age of the applicant).
Jury committee has selected 10 scores. 7 of them were admitted for the final 2nd round, 3 scores were recommended for diplomas.

Selected for the FINAL round:

Category "Soloist ensemble"

Artur Akshelyan (Armenia) — Lichtfarben
Carlo Ciceri (Italy) — Volta
Steven Daverson (Great Britain) — Elusive Tangibility IV

Category "String quartet"

Chang Eun Ho (South Korea) — Meditation for Van Gogh’s 'La Nuit Etoilee'
Hikari Kiyama (Japan) — Kabuki α

Category "Percussion ensemble"

Evis Sammoutis (Cyprus) — TWO 2
Xian Wang (China) — Tao, Volume I
Moshe Shulman (Israel) — Construction 3

Recommended for diplomas:

Georgy Dorokhov (Russia) — 15 for ensemble
Olga Ozerskaya (Russia) — Rainbow for ensemble
Alexander Khubeev (Russia) — String quartet

 Download a press release: 1st round results…

The second round of the competition — the rehearsal of the 7 pieces by finalists — will take place on June 9th 2009 at 15:00 in Rakhmaninov hall of the Moscow P.I. Tchaikovsky Conservatory.

Award ceremony and final concert will take place on June 9th 2009 at 19:00 in Rakhmaninov hall of the Moscow P.I. Tchaikovsky Conservatory. Performers — Studio for New Music ensemble, Mark Pekarsky’s percussion ensemble.

top of the page


Jury: Vladimir Tarnopolski (chief), Alexander Wustin, Boris Getselev, Leyla Ismagilova, Faradj Karaev, Igor Dronov, Mark Pekarsky

Open to: Composers born after 15 February 1979

The competition invites submissions in the following categories:

  • compositions for soloist ensembles or for voice and soloists (6-16 musicians);
  • string quartet or string trio
  • compositions for marimba or percussion ensemble (up to 6 musicians).

Duration: 6-15 minutes

The instrumentation for soloist ensembles could include: 1 flute (also piccolo, also alto), 1 oboe (also English Horn), 1 clarinet (also clarinet bass), 1 bassoon, 1 horn, 1 trumpet, 1 trombone, percussions (2 musicians), 1 piano, 1 harp, 2 violin, 1 viola, 1 cello, 1 double-bass.

Instruments in scores for percussion ensemble must be grouped by performers.

The competition will only accept compositions that are unpublished, and which have not been performed publicly. Applicant may not submit compositions in more than two categories.

Deadline: 15 February 2009 (by postmark)

Prizes: Grand Prix (60.000 rubles), I award in each category (30.000 rubles)

The competition will have two rounds. 10 participants will be admitted to the second round after adjudication of scores. Awards will be conferred on June 9, 2009 after the performance of compositions by soloists from the Studio for New Music (Moscow) and Mark Pekarsky's percussion ensemble

The application package must be postmarked no later than 15 February 2009. It should contain the following:

  • 2 copies of the score (if your score is selected for a final reading, parts must be sent by April 30, 2009). A password should be clearly written on the manuscript submitted; the applicant's name shall not appear on the manuscript)
  • 2 photos of the applicant
  • A complete signed application form in English or Russian (download here)

The application package, marked "To the organizing committee of the International Jurgenson competition for young composers", should be submitted to the following address:

Moscow 125009 Russia,
Moscow P.I. Tchaikovsky Conservatory,
Centre for Contemporary Music
B.Nikitskaya 13, of.316

Tel/fax (+7 495) 690 51 81
E-mail: info@ccmm.ru

top of the page   

back to general info   

© Centre for Contemporary Music in Moscow Conservatory, 2007-2018
    13, B.Nikitskaya ul., 125009, Moscow, Russian Federation. Phone/fax: +7 (495) 690-5181
     Studio for New Music  in Facebook
email us   

last update: Oct 20, 2017