Centre for Contemporary Music, Moscow

About us
Studio for New Music Ensemble

List of events
Special projects
Moscow Forum Festival
Workshops and seminars
Jurgenson Competition

Photo gallery


Concert 'Happy New Music!', 16/01/2018

Jurgenson Competition

вернуться к общей информации о конкурсе


(Moscow, 15 March – September 2011)

Press reviews

The Voice Of Russia radio report

Competition Results1st Round ResultsRegulations of The Competition

During the 2nd round of the competition jury committee consisting of: Vladimir Tarnopolsky (chairman), Alexander Wustin, Boris Getselev, Igor Dronov, Faraj Karaev, Mark Pekarsky awarded:

Category "Composition for Soloist Ensemble"

I Prize —
Didier Rotella (France) — Polichromies 1

II Prize —
Anna Romashkova (Russia) — Recalculating
Kazutomo Yamamoto (Japan) — Memo/Randum

Category "Composition for String Quartet"

I Prize —
Jacobo Gaspar Grandal(Spain) — Metamorphoseon

II Prize —
Yuko Ohara (Japan) — Crystallization

Category "Composition for percussion or percussion ensemble"

I Prize — not awarded

II Prize —
Chang Eun Ho (South Korea) — "Festival" for 6 players

III Prize –
Nejc Kuhar (Slovenia) — "Concertino" for timpani and percussion ensemble

A special diploma "The best work by a composer from Russian province" –
Mark Buloshnikov (Nizhnij Novgorod) – Obertannja for ensemble

Award ceremony and final concert took place on
September 6th 2011 in Rakhmaninov hall of the Moscow Tchaikovsky Conservatory

STUDIO FOR NEW MUSIC Ensemble, Igor Dronov conductor


 Competition Results: press release in PDF format…

6 September 2011, Moscow Conservatory. Rachmaninov Hall
Awarding and Gala Concert of Prize Winners of The Sixth International Jurgenson Competition
 Press Release (in Russian)



198 score from 49 countries were applied. 182 of them that satisfied the requirements of the competition (staff and duration of the piece, age of the applicant) were accepted to the 1st round.
Jury committee consisting of: Vladimir Tarnopolski, Alexander Wustin, Boris Getselev, Igor Dronov, Faraj Karaev, Mark Pekarsky, have selected 7 scores:

Category “Soloist ensemble”

Anna Romashkova (Russia) — Recalculating
Didier Rotella (France) — Polichromies 1
Kazutomo Yamamoto (Japan) — Memo/Randum

Category “String quartet”

Jacobo Gaspar Grandal (Spain) — Metamorphoseon
Yuko Ohara (Japan) — Crystallization

Category “Percussion ensemble”

Eun Ho Chang (South Korea) — Festival
Nejc Kuhar (Slovenia) — Concertino for timpani and percussion ensemble

Jury decided to assign special mention “For the best piece of the composer from Russian regions” to Mark Buloshnikov (Nizhny Novgorod) with Obertannya for ensemble.

The second round of the competition — general rehearsal of the 7 pieces — will take place on September 6th 2011 at 10:00 in Rakhmaninov hall of the Moscow Conservatoire.
Award ceremony and final concert will take place on September 6th 2011 at 19:00 in Rakhmaninov hall of the Moscow Conservatoire. Performers — Studio for New Music ensemble, Mark Pekarsky's percussion ensemble.

 Download Press Release: 1st round results…



text in PDF format for print

The Sixth International Jurgenson Competition for young composers has been organized by the Ministry of Culture of the Russian Federation, Moscow Tchaikovsky Conservatory, the Centre for Contemporary Music (Moscow) and Jurgenson Charity Foundation.

Open to: Composers born after 15 March 1975

The competition invites submissions in the following categories:

  • compositions for soloist ensembles or for voice and soloists (6-16 musicians);
  • string trio or quartet
  • compositions for marimba or percussion ensemble (up to 6 musicians).


Duration: 6 -15 minutes

The instrumentation for soloist ensembles could include: 1 flute (also piccolo, also alto), 1 oboe (also English Horn), 1 clarinet (also clarinet bass), 1 bassoon, 1 horn, 1 trumpet, 1 trombone, percussions (2 musicians), 1 piano, 1 harp, 2 violin, 1 viola, 1 cello, 1 double-bass.

Instruments in scores for percussion ensemble must be grouped by performers.

The competition will only accept compositions that are unpublished, and which have not been performed publicly.  Applicant may not submit compositions in more than two categories.

Deadline: 15 March 2011 (by postmark)

Prizes: Grand Prix (60.000 rubles), I award in each category (30.000 rubles)

The competition will have two rounds. 10 participants will be admitted to the second round after adjudication of scores. Awards will be conferred on September 2011 after the performance of compositions by soloists from the Studio for New Music (Moscow) and Mark Pekarsky's percussion ensemble.

Chairman of the jury committee is Vladimir Tarnopolski

The application package must be postmarked no later than 15 March 2011. It should contain the following:

  • 2 copies of the score (if your score is selected for a final reading, parts must be sent by May 31, 2011). A password should be clearly written on the manuscript submitted; the applicant's name shall not appear on the manuscript)
  • 2 photos of the applicant
  • A complete signed application form in English or Russian


The application package, marked "To the organizing committee of the International Jurgenson competition for young composers", should be submitted to the following address:

Centre for Contemporary Music
Moscow Tchaikovsky Conservatory
B.Nikitskaya 13, of.316,
Moscow 125009 Russia
Tel/fax (+7 495) 690 51 81

top of the page   

back to general info   

© Centre for Contemporary Music in Moscow Conservatory, 2007-2018
    13, B.Nikitskaya ul., 125009, Moscow, Russian Federation. Phone/fax: +7 (495) 690-5181
     Studio for New Music  in Facebook
email us   

last update: Oct 20, 2017